21 Secrets#1

Since I finally manage to get to view the videos, I started with Connie‘s workshop “Get It Out – Get It Down”.


Some pictures of this process that I really enjoyed… I tried as much as I could to change some of my habits regarding Art Journalling, worked in vertical position, in a different place, and enjoyed a different kind of light on what I was doing.

 

 

Still afraid of the white page... I wrote on a pic from a newspaper...

Still afraid of the white page... I wrote on a pic from a newspaper...

 

Although I know, yes but from an intellectual point of view only that it is OK to actually write anything on my journal, although I know I’d be able then to cover it, to hide it under layers, I never did. I had this strange feeling or impression that writing “negative things” on something as precious as one of my Art Journal Pages would stay there anyway… and I would remember it when looking at the page. Then, I also realized, that this is me, anyway.


 

 

I hadn't paint in vertical position for... ages !

I hadn't paint in vertical position for... ages !

 

 

I was amazed by these great effects !

I was amazed by these great effects !

 

I was so happy with the texture I manage to get, although I did not not have anything that would look like gel, and I used geso instead. But trying to make it as thick as I could. ‘Tried to get some wild texture too.

Then, I loved this result so much, as much as the color mix that I kept it quite simple, and kind of transparent – and isn’t the purpose there to be transparent with/to myself and get things out ?

 

I'm getting it out ON my page !

I'm getting it out ON my page !

 

So I glued all the pieces I had written (actually about some stupid material stuff that is bothering me at the moment… and that I still don’t completely know how to handle), and kept the parts “Leave me In Peace” on a corner ! Yes, because all these kind of small details are also big enemies of my creativity.

 

Playing, playing and playing !

Playing, playing and playing !

 

And then after playing, with colours, trying to use as freely as possible my brush (although I don’t really have very long ones), and using a lot of collage elements, which I usually don’t do too much, maybe I was in the mood for collage after gluing my “thoughts”. It was almost finished. But I knew since I had my writing there that I needed to add something. I looked at it until it popped to my mind “A Piece of Peace”. This is what Art Journalling is for me, Peace for my soul, an escape from material problems and from personal doubts. And this is exactly what it was yesterday when I did it, and this is what it means to me “Get It Out – Get It In”. Facing what as to be faced in order to move forward… and CREATE !

About Sofiah
What is not there may become true and real if you put yout energy into it.

Leave a Reply

